Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting El Portal. We'd love to have your feedback!

Pasadena

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to El Portal and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Guest 21 days ago

1800 Milenio

Perfect with a Cigar!

J about 1 month ago

Pork & Beans

We ordered delivery and decided one of the items we wanted to try was the pork and beans burrito. We didn't expect much out of a much simpler meat and beans item, but gosh were we wrong. To be honest, the burrito for delivery doesn't look that appetizing upon receipt, and I am sure it is much more appealing on a plate in the restaurant. But upon taking our first bite it quickly became one of our most favorite items on the menu. The flavor of the pork, beans, and ranchera sauce was really a delight. You had just enough of each of ingredient to really appreciate each flavor, there wasn't too much beans, not too much pork, and not too much sauce. It was just perfectly balanced, and I didn't know such a burrito could be so juicy and satisfying.

Janet 3 months ago

#2. Two Enchiladas

Cheese enchiladas in red sauce is always my go to order.

Geology1966 3 months ago

Carnitas

The carnitas plate at El Portal is one of my favorite anywhere. Perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Tender with just the right amount of salty goodness to make my eyes cross. I have happily been coming to El Portal for over 20 years. With restaurants reopening, do to COVID, I decided that El Portal would be my first restaurant to visit since the lock down started mid March. I was not disappointed. I sat outside in the patio in a booth. Mijares may have been around for over 100 years but if you ask me. I really don't know why. The quality of El Portal's food excels Mijares by miles hands down. Owner Abel Ramirez makes you feel welcome and will usually walks around and ask how everything was.

Llbin55 3 months ago

#13. Fresh Chile Relleno, Taco & Enchilada

No longer is number 13 unlucky! You will thank your lucky stars from the first bite. We ordered the shreaded beef for both the taco and enchilada - beef is so tender with amazing seasoning - literally melts in you mouth. The chile relleno is definitely the best I have ever had - would come for them alone. We did take out for Father's Day (my 89 year old father's choice), and had excellent, accurate fast service. Thank you for making our holiday meal so delicious and special. We will return soon!

Karensmail01 3 months ago

Cochinita Pibil

This is a wonderful dish, always tasty. The portion is huge so unless I am sharing, it is enough for dinner and lunch the next day. I highly recommend giving it a try next time you are eating in, or ordering take-out, which is what we did a few weeks ago. Yum!

Joann 4 months ago

#13. Fresh Chile Relleno, Taco & Enchilada

First time I tried El Porto and it was excellent. The food was fresh with just the right amount of spice and was packaged extremely well. Of course, because of the pandemic, it had to be take-out and I was just a bit concerned that it would be wanting by time I got home, but it was not. I was concerned everything would be on one plate, meshed together and would warm up to a soupy glob of mess. Going to definitely go there again. A try Southwestern Flavor Adventure.

Jonathanejosephson 5 months ago

Enchiladas de Mole

One of my favorite treats at any Restaurant in Pasadena! We've been going to El Portal for more than 15 years and always have a great experience. Their enchiladas de mole are fantastic fresh and after being delivered, and actually reheat really well the next day if refrigerated over night. Abel and his team are the best in the biz :-)

Sinathyu 6 months ago

Enchiladas de Mole

The mole is the best that we've ever had, tastes homemade. It is a comfortingly thick blanket of flavor that drapes ever so seductively over the tender morsels (chicken enchilada) within. The velvety softness of the sauce complements the various spices and marries them to perfection. Don't leave any of the mole on the plate... use the rice to sop up any of the last delicious bits (you don't want them to go to waste).

Lgong3 6 months ago

#10. One Chile Relleno & One Tamal

It was so yummy and out of our expectations! First time to try Mexican food! My daughter loves it so much! Thxs to all!

Bryanna 6 months ago

Cochinita Pibil

This was delicious! Totally hit the spot and the portion was generous, so I get to look forward to enjoying it again as leftovers. As a bonus, my food came out very quickly. Will order again!

Dave 7 months ago

1800 Milenio

Top Shelf...excellent!

Ngutin 8 months ago

Enchiladas de Mole

I love the Enchiladas de Mole! It's nearly impossible to find good mole at any of the other Mexican restaurants (mostly chains) in Pasadena, but this dish is done perfectly! I also love to try their specials, and in the Fall, their Pumpkin soup is the best soup I've EVER had!

Camerio 9 months ago

Enchilada de Camarones

We have been coming to this place since it opened and Abel invited us as his guests. We haven't stopped coming since and genuinely believe it's the best place in Pasadena for good, authentic Yucatan cuisine! Highly recommended!

Gyrodz 10 months ago

Nachos

Can't go wrong with the carne asada nachos. I always ask for extra beans. Goes great with your favorite soft drink or alcoholic beverage. Hits the spot each time!

Carlosperez1 11 months ago

Carnitas

My favorite carnitas in Pasadena. Always delicious and satisfying.

Ronjohnson50 about 1 year ago

#14. Chicken Tamal, Taco & Enchilada

Our first time to eat here, won't be our last. Wonderful is just what we wanted for dinner. The drive from Upland, Ca. was worth the trip.

Ann about 1 year ago

#7. One Taco & One Enchilada

This is my favorite go-to meal. Best tacos and enchiladas in Pasadena and beyond! I always get the shredded beef taco and cheese enchilada combo, with sauteed fresh vegetables instead of rice, and a half portion of beans. Ooh, I'm craving it as I write this!

Claunessa about 1 year ago

Shrimp Tostada

I had the shrimp tostada and loved it. The shrimp were fresh ( I could tell) and the tostada was light. It was very filling. I've been here a few times and have always had a good experience. Looking forward to going again soon.

Stack over 1 year ago

Fajitas

The best fajitas we've ever had!! Delicious flavor and plenty for two to share. Our favorite meal at our favorite restaurant 😊

Rctlc 25 days ago

All Pork and Green Sauce

1) chile verde burrito good mix of rice n beans perfect spice 2) new york steak medium rare (casi crudo) perfect w enchilada. Few xtra spicy micheladas and a watermelon margarita. mmmmm que la Que tremendo muy rico chico y tu sabes chaves

J about 1 month ago

Carne Asada

Purchased carne asada for delivery, and I have to say it was one of the most delicious and well cooked steaks all around. We were worried that through delivery it would end up being dry or overcooked, but actually it was quite the opposite. The combination of flavor along with the each of the sides: cheese enchilada, guacamole, salsa, rice, and veggies gave each and every bite such a wonderful sensation that made us want more. The steak was juicy, tender and moist. It was also not salty, which I dislike at most restaurants, and gave the opportunity to really enjoy the flavor of good meat. We shared this item between two people and wished we had each gotten it ourselves. I highly recommend this for delivery, but excited to have this again in the restaurant when I feel safe to come out of home!

C33warner 3 months ago

Fish Tacos Rosarito

Great fish tacos fried perfectly

Nm 3 months ago

#18. Two Flautas with Flour Tortillas

Good flautas. The meat was delicious and even though there's only meat it was very flavorful.

Shawn 3 months ago

Fajitas

Beef fajitas were spot on! I ordered this for pick up and it came with all the fixings (rice, beans, guacamole, chips/salsa, and tortillas). Service for pick up was convenient and fast. I will definitely be ordering fajitas again!

Qkim21 4 months ago

Carne Asada

Sooooooooooooo good. Best carne asada around!!

Jhutchens 4 months ago

Cochinita Pibil

The best Pibil I have ever had. This place serves authentic Yucatan dishes that never disappoint. The staff is exceptional; always friendly and smiling. The tequila selections are amazing, they have the best Cadillac margarita I have ever had. This is my go-to place to take friends and family.

Okbeth 5 months ago

#10. One Chile Relleno & One Tamal

I have been coming to El Portal for 15 years. It's my group of friends favorite place. I've tried many things over that period. The combination of chili relleno and a tamale are my favorite. This is certainly due to the flavor but, most importantly, the love it is served with. The packed restaurant is a testament that many agree.

Jlowell1958 6 months ago

#2. Two Enchiladas

Absolutely love the shrimp enchiladas! Fresh flavors, large portions, and absolutely delicious!!

Liz 6 months ago

#11. One Enchilada & One Chile Relleno

Most places allow me to award 5 stars. I would give El Portal 10, if I could. There are only two other places to go for Mexican food: Mexico and San Diego. Anywhere north of those two, El Portal is the best there is, hands down. Why? First of all, let me say I have been eating Mexican food all my adult life, first in New York at El Parador, which was the best NY had to offer in Mexican food in the 1970s and then at the brief but stellar Beach House in Tribeca in the '80s. To this day, no one has made enchiladas and black beans better than the Beach House. But, I have also been dining in California since the late '70s and tried all the famous Mexican restaurants multiple times. I still remember the Red Onion fondly and of course I have been to El Cholo multiple times. El Portal is better than those two and all the others. There is simply no debate. Firstly, the atmosphere is pure Mexico. I've been to Mexico frequently and I cannot see a major difference. In fact, it reminds me of restaurants in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico and Barcelona too. And I only say that as a point of comparison. It is lovely inside, cozy, warm, clean. At Christmas -- and I make sure to dine at El Portal at least once every year during the holidays -- there is a beautiful Christmas tree and a roaring fire. The interior is beautiful. There is a nice bar. I don't drink but there are free chips, salsa and cheese as well as other bar snacks and most of my dinner companions rave about the Margaritas. The menu is extensive. I have sampled a bit of everything (sin carne, naturalmiente) but my consistent favorite is the cheese enchiladas with mole sauce, black beans and rice, with guacamole. The chips and salsa are always fresh. Having lived in South America for three years, I am aware of the practice of putting out pico de gallo on every table, fresh every day. El Portal does this as well, and offers various bottled hot sauces. The service is always friendly. The owner is often at the front door and greets each patron as they enter, and often bids them goodbye at the end. There is outdoor seating for warmer weather and a dessert cafe across the path in the charming arcade where El Portal is located. Parking is convenient in the back. What more can you ask?

Pokeesol 7 months ago

#8. One Chile Relleno & One Crisp Taco

My husband and I came here because I craving a chile relleno. El Portal never disappoints! The chile relleno was delicious and paired with authentically made rice and beans. The plates are very generous and will surely satisfy your taste buds. Pair your dinner with their Ultimate Margarita and all will be well in the world! :)

Dcollins 8 months ago

Enchilada

I ordered the Menu #1 Taco Bar from El Portal for our recent office party and we were all very pleased with how fresh the food was. We ordered the carne asada and grilled chicken; they were both well seasoned and had the authentic Mexican flavor we all hoped for. I have to mention the salsa because I love spice and the hot salsa can go on anything. The cheese enchiladas were nice and cheesy and the red sauce they were in was extremely delicious. Their service and great food made a life long customer!!!

Jinitalks 9 months ago

Enchiladas Suiza de Pollo

You got to try this for sure!! Omg. It's bomb.com. I love these weekly specials at el portal. I've been here for more than 20 times now and I must say I loved each and every dish I tried. Also the nacho chips and salsa they serve before you order is absolutely amazing! You will know when you come here, so stop by and experience the ultimate Mexican food wohooo!

Rebecca 10 months ago

Zacatecas Burger

Pumpkin soup is the best. I hope they keep it through December...yummy!

Jwillis1300 11 months ago

Zacatecas Burger

This was the best Pumpkin Soup I've ever had, We have been back 3 times. This special soup should be added to the regular menu! The Tequila selection and portions are the best in Pasadena. I'm a fan of all the food I've had at El Portal. John

Sshea80 12 months ago

Cochinita Pibil

I have been enjoying the cochinita pibil here for the last 19 years! The pork is always cooked perfectly (never dry) and the pickled red onions pull everything together. I actually crave this dish and look forward to it. The customer service is always amazing; they make you feel like family.

Tformico about 1 year ago

#11. One Enchilada & One Chile Relleno

Chili relleno was super yummy with black beans. Best black beans ever. They have the best salsa in Pasadena Service was excellent.

Ann about 1 year ago

Guacamole

It's so fresh you would think they have an avocado tree on the premises!

Stack over 1 year ago

Ensalada Maya

My favorite Mexican salad! Delicious chicken, onions, cheese, and dressing. A great choice if you don't want something too heavy, but still filling!

Cueto55 over 1 year ago

Panuchos

You won't find better Panuchos any place except, maybe in the Yucatan! They are muy deliciosos!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA